Skip to content ↓

Awards Ceremony 2019

Congratulations to all our award winners.

The 2019 Awards Ceremony took place on Thursday 26th September. The evening was a fantastic celebration of our students’ academic, sporting and extra-curricular achievements.

 There were many awards to present including prizes for each subject, a student of the year from each year group and transition awards for our younger students as they have moved from primary into secondary school. We also celebrated awards for fantastic examination success in the summer at GCSE and A Level and prizes for international sport.

 The Citizenship Award was won by the ‘Stories of Coal’ animation documentary. Mr Husband, Mr Cooke and a selection of students who worked on the project proudly showed off the results of their hard work. The Endeavour Award was won by William Mansell for his strength and determination to overcome his disability and achieve his goals. Isobelle Preston received the Rhys Morgan Outstanding Achievement Award for her passion and desire to succeed in her academic studies and also her contribution to the wider school community.

 The winners of our most coveted awards were : Audi Silsuktipapsorn (Student of the Year), Mr Phil Winterburn (Support Staff Member of the Year) and Miss Kelly Fleming (Teacher of the Year). These awards were voted for by the students and staff of Pontypridd High and all recipients thoroughly deserve this success.

 Head Girl Billie-Mai Cox and Head Boy Lewis Hooper spoke very well, introducing this year’s 6th form leadership team and outlining their plans for the year ahead. The evening ended with Governor Sally Moses congratulating everyone for what they had achieved and thanking all staff and each family for their commitment and support.

 Congratulations also to all those students who achieved great things though the year and made progress in many different ways. Many students were nominated for awards and their achievements have been recognised in school assemblies with certificates being presented by Headteacher, Mr Huw Cripps.

 Everyone has something to aim for over the next year to ensure they feature in the Awards for 2020. Well done to you all.

 We look forward to celebrating all our achievements again this time next year

For more photos from Awards Ceremony, please follow these links: